The Quandary Gazette

opinions

#byArchitect#tulpamancy #opinions

A time back, a prospective tulpamancer asked us what we thought of the community. I wrote her a long answer explaining my personal cynicisms. More recently, some people within the community asked us to explain what specific toxic attitudes we've seen there. In answer to them and any future askers, I'm reposting a slightly modified copy of the answer I gave the prospective tulpamancer. This is far from complete in my view, but it should at least answer the basic question and then some.

And I feel the need to elaborate that these problems are not limited to the tulpamancy community. I've seen variations of them everywhere in the wider plural community. I've seen them in mixed communities, in DID communities, and in endogenic communities. I do think that the particular nature of the tulpamancy community “institutionalizes” these issues more, but honestly, considering that the bigger plural community is also a mess of cults, toxic codependencies, persecutory paranoia, and pointless bickering, I'd say we're even. I also don't think these issues are a symptom specific to plural community, but specialized ways that issues found in general society manifest. Humans are just inept at treating each other well in general and this is simply another way that it happens.

In any case, warnings for the following: abuse (especially in-system abuse), forced integration, dehumanization (including the context of having to do pointless “tests” to prove you're a person), and a brief mention of sex with dubious circumstances.

Read more...